Sushumna, Vajra, Chitrini and Brahma Nadis

The basic knowledge of the Structure, location and functions of the Sushumna Nadi and the Vajra, Chitrini and the Brahma Nadis, which are located inside the Sushumna Nadi, is extremely important for those Yoga aspirants commencing upon the path of Kundalini Awakening. In this article, I have highlighted some basic information about the functioning of these stuble Nadis that are responsible for the flow of the invisible life source in the human body.

The Sushumna Nadi is located in the Merudanda [the spinal column]; it is also known as the Agni Nadi due to its reddish color. It rises from the Muladhara or Root Chakra until the Sahasrara or Crown Chakra, and along with the Ida and Pingala Nadis, it is one of the three main Nadis present in the human body to channel the flow of the Prana or the life source energy.  The Sushumna Nadi is primarily Satva Guni [Pure Quality] in nature and hence it makes the Chitta [Mind and Consciousness] calm, composed and peaceful, and enhances concentration and memory power.

Located inside the Sushumna Nadi is the Vajra Nadi, which rises from the Swadhisthana or Sacral Chakra until the Vishuddhi or Throat Chakra. The Vajra Nadi is Tejaswi [luminous] and always radiant.

Located inside the Vajra Nadi is the Chitrini Nadi, which rises from the Muladhara Chakra to the area above the Ajna or Third Eye Chakra, known as the Pranava. The Chitrini is extremely fine and contains within it Sukshma Granthis [extremely stuble glands or energy centers]. The Chitrini Nadi is ever luminous from the birth to the death of an individual.

Located inside the Chitrini Nadi is the Bright Brahma Nadi, which rises from the Muladhara Chakra to the mouth of the Swayambhu Linga to the Sahasrara Chakra. The pure flow of energy from the Sahasrara Chakra, happen only through the Brahma Nadi.

The Sushumna, Ida and Pingala Nadis meet at the point of the Ajna Chakra. The Ida Nadi is predominantly Tamo Guni, the Pingala is predominantly Rajo Guni and the Sushumna Nadi is predominantly Satva Guni.  The proper stimulation of all these three Nadis is of utmost importance in Kundalini Yoga.

Related articles
Basic Information of Ida and Pingala Nadis (
Mantras to purify the 3 Nadis (
Maha - Rudra Mantra for Cancer Patients (
Hindu Mantra for Kundalini Rising - 2 (
Mantra to open Crown Chakra (
Powerful Shakti Mantra for the Muladhara Chakra (
Kali Mantra Sadhana to open the Crown Chakra (
Three techniques of Pranayama (
Location of God in the human body (
Mantra for severe Gas problems (


Most Popular Posts