Awakening the Kundalini

The Root or the Muladhara Chakra is the most important of the CHAKRAS. This Chakra is located in that part of the body where the anus and genitals meet. The Sanskrit words which make up the word Muladhara mean-Mula – Root and Adhara – The base or foundation. Thus, Muladhara means – Root base or Root foundation.

The spine is comprised three nerve channels-
1. Ida – It is on the left side and is the channel of the negative current.

2. Pingala – It is located on the right side and is the channel of the positive current.

3. Sushumna – This channel is located in the centre, it is the channel of equilibrium.

These three channels called in English as the Sympatic, Parasympatic and Central nervous systems, move along the spine in a curved and crisscrossed manner, overlapping each other. Hence, the Kundalini is also compared to a snake, and called Serpent Power. The power or life energy, which the human body generates, is stored in the Muladhara Chakra, and lies dormant like a coiled snake. This energy through various aids like Yogic exercises and Meditation can be aroused and channelized to the Crown Chakra or the Sahasrar Chakra.

To understand this one has to know that there are two types of life energies in the human body-
The Dormant or Static energy – This energy is as I have said before which lies in the Muladhara Chakra is dormant in nature; it can be termed as the reservoir of energy.

The second type of energy in the body is the active or dynamic energy. This energy is everywhere in the human body. This energy move upwards from all those body parts where it circulates.

Thus when the Muladhara Chakra is stimulated through various aids like Yoga and Meditation. Or Mantras like the ROOT MANTRAS FOR THE SEVEN CHAKRAS andSHAKTI MANTRAS FOR THE SEVEN CHAKRAS. The energy in the reservoir starts moving upwards through the Sushumna and starts merging with the Dynamic energy already moving about in the body. The merging of these two energies, the static and dynamic energies is called as ‘Kundalini Rising ‘.

Awakened Kundalini 3D Image
Awakened Kundalini
This energy rises through all the other Chakras - Svadhiṣṭhana or Sacrel Chakra, the Maṇipura or Solar Plexus Chakra, Anahata or Heart Chakra, Visuddha or Throat Chakra and the Ajna or Third Eye Chakra till it reaches its final destination the Sahasrara or Crown Chakra, which is located at the top of the head. This energy then starts energizing the Brain and move out of the body through the crown of the head.

The Sahasrara or Crown Chakra can be compared to a Lotus flower with a thousand petals. The brain like the Sahasrara resembles the Lotus flower, and like the Lotus flower is attached to its stem, in the same way in which Brain is attached to the Brain Stem. And further like how the Lotus flower is attached to its root, so also is the Sahasrara attached to its root, which is the Muladhara Chakra.

When these two energies the Static and Dynamic meet, rise, and flow out of the top of the head, there is a drastic change in the functioning of the Brain. The Brain starts functioning at the higher levels as dormant functions are activated. The senses become heightened and one can achieve things that one never knew one had the capacity to achieve.

Through these aids to raise the Kundalini, heat is generated which stimulates that dormant energy stored in the Muladhara Chakra. When this heat or charge is generated, the dormant energy rises and continues to do so, as it natural movement is upwards.

The foundation of all these Yogic exercises lie in the Bhagavad-Gita Krishna –The Supreme Being says- ''Offering inhaling breath into the outgoing breath, and offering the outgoing breath into the inhaling breath, the yogi neutralizes both these breaths; he thus releases the life force from the heart and brings it under his control.''

Related articles
Mantras for Sexual Problems (


  1. Guriji, how to awaken the kundalini through Guru ? Who can help on this



Post a Comment

Feel free to speak your mind and share your thoughts and knowledge. Answer the Queries of others. Please do not expect answers for obvious or personal questions. Information/HTML given in comments; especially on Vashikaran, Mohini, Yakshinis, Akarshan, Occult, Witchcraft, Hex and Voodoo Spells, Black Magic Mantra, Tantra, Jadu- Tona, Totka and Upay is not endorsed by this site See New Comment Policy

Most Popular Posts